A Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back Symphonic Suite Vinyl Record Is Now Available For Preorder


This record was originally a supplement to the 2 LP Motion Picture Soundtrack of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back. It has been out of print since it’s original 180 gm black vinyl pressing back in 1980 when the film was released.

Now you can preorder a copy of this “Symphonic Suite” record that John Williams had made with new arrangements at Varesesarabande.com for $25.98.

It is also available on Amazon for $23.49

STAR WARS: THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK, this 1-LP release, skillfully combines a “Symphonic Suite” that John Williams created for concert performance with new arrangements of other cues from the film score.

The record comes in a jacket with art by William Stout.  There are also images of John Williams, along with notes, and notes from Christopher Palmer who was a composer and critic and Ray Bradbury the author.

Here is the Track List

Side One:

  1. 20th Century-Fox Fanfare (0:21)
  2. Main Title/The Imperial Probe (5:25)
  3. Luke’s First Crash (2:29)
  4. Han Solo And The Princess (4:26)
  5. The Asteroid Field (4:12)
  6. The Training Of A Jedi Knight And “May The Force Be With You” (1:56)
  7. The Battle In The Snow (3:06)

Side Two:

  1. The Imperial March (3:21)
  2. The Magic Tree (3:38)
  3. Yoda’s Theme (3:34)
  4. The Rebels Escape Again (3:01)
  5. Lando’s Palace, The Duel (Through The Window) (5:01)
  6. Finale (4:39)

Varesesarabande.com also had this quote up in the listing.

“I was delighted when Charles Gerhardt asked me if he could record the suite from THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK, since I am a great fan of his recorded performances. Moreover, I was so pleased with his recordings of the original STAR WARS and CLOSE ENCOUNTERS scores, which he made in association with producer George Korngold, that I have looked forward to this LP with special anticipation.

The Suite, which I had specially written and adapted for concert performance […] had been skillfully augmented with other music from the film to form a unified whole. A great orchestra and Gerhardt’s opulent sound and dramatic phrasing combine to make a fine addition to a rapidly growing list of great recordings of film music.” – JOHN WILLIAMS”

What do you think? Comment and let us know!

Source: Hat tip to Comicbook.com

Pirates & Princesses (PNP) is an independent, opinionated fan-powered news blog that covers Disney and Universal Theme Parks, Themed Entertainment and related Pop Culture from a consumer's point of view. Opinions expressed by our contributors do not necessarily reflect the views of PNP, its editors, affiliates, sponsors or advertisers. PNP is an unofficial news source and has no connection to The Walt Disney Company, NBCUniversal or any other company that we may cover.